Latest News

Submissions Now Open for the Beacon Awards Presented by DLFNY

The Designers Lighting Forum of New York (DLFNY) has announced that submissions to enter the first annual Beacon Awards, honoring outstanding achievement in lighting design, are open as of Monday, June 3, 2024, and will be accepted through September 4, 2024.

Awards will be presented in seven categories – New York Project, Commercial & Institutional, Exteriors, Residential, Hospitality & Retail, Product Design, and an ICON Award.

Lighting designers, lighting consultants, architects, interior designers, and industrial designers who have practices within the greater New York Metro area are eligible to enter.

All proceeds from the Beacon Awards will fund DLFNY’s Lenar Lighting Empowerment Scholarship, which aims to foster the next generation of lighting designers. The scholarship is named in honor of the late lighting designer, Lana Lenar, a principal at zeroLux.

“The Beacon Awards are DLFNY’s way of publicly recognizing excellence in lighting design,” says Charles Pavarini III, Founder of Pavarini Design, Beacon Awards Chair, who conceived the awards program. “The awards are also an opportunity for the community to celebrate the legacies of two industry giants and beloved past DLFNY presidents – Caroline Rinker, was an early proponent of the Beacon Awards, and Lana Lenar, in whose name we established a scholarship.”

A single winner in each of five different typologies, plus one Product Design winner, will be determined by the Beacon Awards 2024 jury. The Beacon Awards Committee selected industry leaders who represent different fields. The jury consists of interior designer Clodagh (Clodagh Designs); educator and lighting designer Shaun Fillion (RAB Lighting and NYSID); interior designer Elvira Gershengon (Huntsman Architecture); lighting designer Paul Gregory (Focus Lighting); architect Barry Richards (The Rockwell Group); lighting designer and strategic consultant Sara Schonour (luxsi), and lighting designer Atilla Uysal, (Lumen Architecture).

The ICON Award honors an individual, studio, or firm, which has demonstrated exceptional commitment to advancing lighting design in the built environment. The recipient of this award is selected by the DLFNY Awards Committee and approved by the DLFNY Board.

Winners will be announced and feted on October 9, 2024, at the Beacon Awards Ceremony at Sony Hall in Midtown Manhattan.

For more information about the award categories, submissions, sponsorships, and tickets to the ceremony visit or email

Tagged with ,

Comment on the story

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *