Latest News

IES Announces 2023 Illumination Awards Recipients

IES Announces 2023 Illumination Awards Recipients

NEW YORKIlluminating Engineering Society (IES) presented the recipients of the 50th Annual Illumination Awards on Thursday, August 3, during the 2023 IES Annual Conference. Nine projects including two Special Citations, six Awards of Excellence and the coveted Award of Distinction were recognized. Also presented during the evening’s events were the recipients of the 2023 Brandston Award and the Besal Lighting Education Fund 2024 Scholarships. This year’s recipients represent some of the most innovative and inspiring work found anywhere in the world of lighting.

Award of Distinction, awarded for extraordinary achievement in lighting design, was presented to Liska ehf. for their work on the Hallgrímskirkja Cathedral Interior Lighting in Reykjavík, Iceland.

Award of Excellence – Hallgrímskirkja Exterior Lighting

The IES Illumination Awards program recognizes individuals for professionalism, ingenuity, and originality in lighting design based on the individual merit of each entry. Judges are selected from a broad professional spectrum, representing knowledge of lighting and design excellence. The judging system is entirely based on how well the lighting design meets the program criteria. The Illumination Awards program is not a competition.

Awards of Excellence are awarded for an exceptional contribution to the art and science of light and Special Citations are awarded to recognize superior elements for a portion of a project.

The IES congratulates all of the recipients on their dedication to advancing the lighting profession.

Tagged with , ,

Comment on the story

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *